English Test Scores

English Language Requirement for Skilled Visas

The Department of Home Affairs (DHA) will accept several alternative English tests towards meeting the English Language selection criteria that is required for some visa applications, including the Skilled visas.

Find out more at:

Each test is benchmarked against an English language proficiency level (Functional, Vocational, Competent, Proficient or Superior). A summary of test score equivalences for all English language tests is provided below.

If using these tests to obtain additional points in respect of the Skilled Independent Visas (189, 190 and 491)

  • Proficient = 10 points
  • Superior = 20 points

English Points Equivalents